PhD

img-1305.jpg

I enrolled on the Health Studies PhD programme at Oxford Brookes in February 2018. This is both incredibly exciting and pretty daunting, as I will be studying part-time trying to juggle the PhD alongside my lecturing position and the manifold other commitments that come with being a dad and partner in your mid 30s.

A key part of my learning is going to be developing the discipline to read methodological and subject specific literature; critique, assimilate and synthesise this with my existing knowledge and ideas in order to articulate my evolving conceptions of the existing literature and my own research project. To that end I plan to use this blog as a way to record my research journey.

In the first instance I will be summarising and reflecting on my reading.  The posts will be often short and probably messy. They are not intended to be a collection of polished, authoritative and comprehensive posts, but an attempt to capture some essence of my thoughts as they occur. My views will likely evolve as I read more and progress along the PhD path. The chances are they will be of no interest to anyone but me, but I would welcome with open arms any views, corrections, arguments or agreements on any of the posts.

Cheers

Ben

(The picture is of my son in beautiful Hope Cove, South Devon)

Leave a comment